Modern cultures around the world have become similar when compared to the past. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, cultures and traditions in numerous countries around the world are identical in contrast to the past. This essay will discuss that the main reasons behind this similarity are influence of western culture and the emergence of social media and state that this is an overall very welcome development. In this day and age, advertisements are ubiquitous and play a pivotal role in promoting latest trend and fashion followed by some developed countries. Many developing nations are trying to adapt to the modern culture, whether it is about food, clothes or music. Furthermore, with the advent of the internet and social media, the world has become a very small place and it has become easier to talk to anyone, anywhere and know about their culture. For example, in social networking sites, such as Facebook, people can join groups having common interests and take part in discussions. Therefore, modern technology as well as the media plays a vital role in the similarity of cultures in a myriad of nations. This is deemed as a positive development for the growth and prosperity of underdeveloped countries. When people travel abroad, it is often comforting to use leisure amenities which they enjoy at home. For instance, people can eat in their favourite food joint and listen to the same kind of music. This helps in the economy of a nation as trade flourishes and attracts more tourists. In conclusion, technological invention is the main cause why cultures and societies are becoming more congruent. It is considered as an optimistic growth as people are coming closer as they enjoy similar cultures around the globe.