You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your

Writing letters has been one of the essential means of communication since centuries. With the advancement of technology, nowadays, there are numerous modern gadgets available that convey the information faster. But have the letters lost their importance? This essay will argue why the letters are still important despite various other better options. To begin with, there are number of electronic devices present in the form of computers, laptops and mobile phones in this modern world. Furthermore, Internet has also enhanced their usage. For instance, today humans can have a verbal conversation through mobile phones. Apart from that, individuals may contact their friends and family members by video calling on Whatsapp. It is also helpful for the patients to consult the doctor online so as to save time. Hence, the technology has become an important part in connecting with other people. On the other hand, letters are written from the ancient times till now. Although, they are not commonly used as a mode of transferring messages from one person to the other. But they play a major role in multinational companies and government sector where formal and semiformal letters are often needed to be written. They are proven to be useful as a strong evidence in court. Currently, a pen and paper is seldom needed for sending letters because they are mostly sent through email. Last but not the least, their necessity is less for students as they got the chance to improve their writing skills. In my point of view, the technology is getting advancedday by day enabling everyone to connect easily and at a faster rate but letters are also successful in many sectors whether it be public or private sector. Letters have preserved their existence and they would not seem to be vanished.