Modern appliances in the home have become more common, leaving no doubt that advances in technology have improved our lifestyle.

The impact of innovations and inventions in our daily lives has increased dramatically. Most homes these days have, at the very least, a washing machine and a microwave, yet this has had both positive and negative effects. Although there are definitely some improvements (it would now be difficult to live without them), the negatives are equally definable. Primarily, the fact that these appliances have to be paid for, serviced, repaired and replaced means that we need to work to maintain this cycle. For example, in some countries the average washing machine is two or three weeks’ wages for most people. Considering the product’s life span, it can be estimated that we are working at least two or three days a year simply to cover the cost of the appliance, a calculation which is multiplied by all the appliances we acquire. In addition, an increasing number of appliances are for purposes that were not previously considered necessities, but through marketing techniques, manipulative advertising and human nature we are now keen to acquire them. Electric juice makers are a perfect example. Of course, there are appliances which in their basic format have improved our lifestyle simply because of the labour they save. The washing machine, which saves hours every week on handwashing, is an example of this. It is only when such appliances develop functions beyond their basic use, that they become more expensive but more desirable because of the addition of these extra functions that most of us never use. It can therefore be concluded that only by carefully considering the use and relevance of the appliances we buy, can we say that they have improved our lifestyle.