Mobile phones or smart phones are common in people’s daily lives. Using these devices is popular among students, and many of them use the phones in class while the lesson is in progress. Should students be allowed to use mobile (smart) phones in class? Write an essay to an educated reader to discuss your opinion. Include reasons and any relevant examples to support your answer.

There is no denying that technology is changing the face of education. People have different views concerning on whether student should be permitted to use cell phone in class. From my perspective, I believe that this technology device has its own advantages and disadvantages. On the one hand, it is undeniable the positive benefits that mobile phones bring to students in the current information technology era. The first and foremost reason behind this is that, smartphones provide students supplementary learning materials and easy access to more information. In fact, the Internet is the place stored a giant amount of knowledge information, thus through smartphone students could read ebook, find references and follow whatever teachers said easier. Moreover, students can record the lectures and listen again at home simply by activating their mobile. Secondly, mobile is itself a good device for students to connect with their parents while they are at school or outside. To make this point further, for example, if students go to school and back home personally parents can be keep in touch their children and know their whereabouts. Specially, in some emergent case, when students need help immediately, they can be meet it easily just by making a call. On the other hand, I also think that using cellphones in class lead to negative effects on children. The first thing to mention, using this devices while the lecture is in progress cause distraction for student. For instance, instead of using cellphones for studying purpose, they do their own things such as playing games, chatting, surfing unrelevant website. In addition, Children are likely to become dishonest in the exam test. They use their phones to search for answers to quizzes, or better yet, to send their work around to friends. If this situation always occurs, it is not possible to properly assess the capacity of students. Last but not least, the technology devices give rise to negative effect on mental health. Exposure to high intensity cellphone can cause students to experience many health problems such as eyes strain, lack of sleep and so on. Specially, these conditions will be very dangerous if they go on for a long time. To conclude, using smart phones could bring about certain benefits, but its negative consequences should not be overlooked.