Mobile phones and internet have made it easier to stay in contact with other people. However, as a lot of time is spent using telephones and computers,there is less face to face contact and direct communication. Is the growing use of communication technology a positive or negative development for society?

It has become common for people to stay in touch with each other mostly by means of the internet or mobile phone rather than direct contact. As to my mind, I truly believe that it is a positive development and the advantages of such an approach outweigh its drawbacks. Admittedly, staying in touch by direct communication means the possibility to express people's emotions without any restrictions. It is hard to argue that there are plenty of opportunities for communication which is not available via the Internet or mobile phone. Moreover, despite the easier contact between people by means of communication technology, the most significant things in our life can not be provided by them. For instance, it is impossible to sign a contract through mobile phone or to make other important arrangements. Despite the outlined arguments I believe that without mobile phones and the internet a lot of opportunities could be missing for mankind. Pandemia of coronavirus has widely shown how communications technologies are important in our lives. A lot of people around the world were able to stay in touch despite the pandemic restrictions. Technologies allow mankind to overcome the confines and to stay safe at home in the face of danger. Besides, technologies help people to continue to work despite circumstances because we can hold meetings, documents and make money transactions. Finally, communication technologies are still developing and expanding the opportunities for people to express their feelings, which couldn’t replace the gace-to-face communication, but still helps to cope with tough times. In conclusion, taking into account briefly discussed arguments, I reaffirm my position that growing use of communication technologies is a positive development because they help people to stay in touch in difficult times.