Mobile Financial Services

“Banking is necessary; banks are not” said Bill gates--a founder of Microsoft Corporation-- and it seems to be coming true. Digital financial services including Mobile Financial Services (MFS), which has been flourishing the banking industry over the three decades, has achieved tremendous popularity across the world during the ongoing crisis induced by Covid-19. With myriad benefits, MFSs are growing at a fast clip in Bangladesh. A tiny number of challenges lies in MFS when it comes to pulling all sorts of citizen into formal banking sectors. Launched in 2011, MFS in Bangladesh has come a long way and extended their services to its respective users. Today, more than 10 crore people out of a population of nearly 17 crore plus use mobile banking or have an MFS account. Of them, over three crore MFS account holders are active and they collectively transact Tk 1, 786 crore daily. The ongoing crisis induced by Covid-19 has accelerated in terms of adding customers to MFS. For instance, Bkash- a leading MFS provider in Bangladesh has added one crore, taking its total clients base to 5 crore with 2. 4 lakh agent. Its daily transection has passed the 1000 crore. The fact that MFS has emerged as a one stop services from sending money and receiving money to making payments for education, transportation, utility services--electricity bill, gas bill, water bill and mobile bill –and medical has encouraged the citizen to sign up into a MFS account. Despite having numerous opportunities of MFS, a tiny number of challenges remains in this industry. The key impediments of this sector, undoubtedly, are fraudulent, exorbitant service charges, less penetration of smart phone. Although MFS operators has witnessed a surge in registering to their respective operator, Bangladesh lags far behind neighboring countries including china and India when it comes to providing loan through MFS. If the interoperability is ensured among the providers, and service charges are brought down, the industry will reach a new height. The regulatory Body must sit with expert and stake holders of MFS to address the drawbacks of this sector.