Minimalism in our daily life

Minimalism is a lifestyle that has been popular for a long time and has been catching up again in recent years. It is a lifestyle in which a person tends to relinquish his belongings that are in excess, own as little as possible, and tends to keep things as simple as possible. A minimalist is always satisfied with necessities and frowns upon luxuries. He tries to increase self-sufficiency. An average minimalist tends to have a house that has simple, minimum furniture and is largely empty to utilize space. The person feels that there is no purpose in hoarding multiple items to satisfy his pleasures and sees them as a burden. Due to rising salaries and purchasing power, there has been a rise in consumerism and people have become more materialistic. They fall for peer pressure to buy various products so that they can flaunt and position themselves as superior beings. Even if they end up buying, they might not use it regularly. Hoarding stuff inside houses can also end up in wastage of money and improper utilization of space. This money could have been used for useful purposes like investing, travel, etc. Hoarding various items can be an eyesore to the average minimalist. There are many reasons for a person to practice minimalism like religious, environmental concerns, health concerns, taste, financial situation, political reasons, etc. They shape the mindset of a person for the rest of his life and there could be no turning back. Minimalism has proved to have many benefits. Whenever they face a financial crunch, they won’t have to experience a significant change in their lifestyle. They are healthier, happier, and have a sense of self-confidence. They can focus more on improving their productivity rather than maintaining the exotic items they hoard. They need not compare themselves with others and they won’t have to experience any sign of jealousy. They can buy one item of superior quality and use it for a long time instead of buying multiple items of inferior quality. A minimalist house if arranged properly can look more appealing than a maximalist house if it is messy. It would be less hard to lose precious items. A minimalist can also impart these values to the next generation and minimalism can become the new normal. Although minimalism is catching up, it might a long time for the majority of the population to consider it normal due to the general human characteristics of greed and possessiveness. But once it is considered normal by the majority of the population, the world could be a better place.