Metro Rail Advantages and Disadvantages

In Dhaka city, where horrendous traffic congestion is seen on regular basis, metro rail will ease Dhaka’s traffic gridlock partially. Metro rail will provide commuters with a sophisticated transport service that is contemporary, time-bound, and comfortable. With numerous benefits of it, it would face a small number of issues including appropriate management of it. The dream of having a metro rail in Dhaka city is going to be fulfilled finally as the construction of metro rail is going on in a full swing. The government’s relentless efforts have been seen to reduce traffic congestion in the city. This is why, the government has taken several initiatives, such as the expressway project, Fly-over project and Metro rail project to make a comfortable journey in the city. It is expected that metro rail will carry the passenger by 2022. The metro rail will bring down the travel time by 50 per cent to 70 per cent. It is worthwhile to mention that once complete, the metro train will be able to carry 60, 000 passengers an hour. Moreover, the estimated time to travel, from Uttara to Motijheel, is 35 minutes despite having 16 stations. Now it takes approximately two hours to travel the same distance on a working day. The fact that the metro rail tends to occupy approximately about two-meter width of the road for elevated rail, and at the same time, it can carry more passengers compared to traditional transport system will the road capacity and bring some relief for the commuters, who have to commute for various purposes in the Dhaka city regularly. Therefore, the metro rail would be convenient to lessen traffic jam in the city. Besides, it will contribute to reducing fuel wastage and environmental pollution. The city has seen a surge of private vehicles which occupy close to 75 per cent of the road and carry only five per cent of the citizen of Dhaka city. On the other side, the metro rail train would facilitate to travel of five per cent people of the city at a time. Consequently, it has become popular across the globe. More importantly, this project will give a boost to the whole economy. It is likely to trigger women empowerment and social equity as women, physically disabled person, and vulnerable segment of society can commute easily, comfortably at affordable cost, a fact that would encourage them to take part in economic activities. Despite having myriad benefits of it, a small number of drawback remain in this project. Because the project will deal with a large number of people, management of this project, for instance cleaning the train, would be challenging. Not only that, its initial cost of this project is high; moreover acquisition of land may disturb numerous people’s livelihood, especially for the poor and middle-income groups. Apart from this, its construction phase would hamper the peace and tranquillity of the city. Air pollution and noise would go up substantially during the construction period that may exacerbate sufferings for the city dwellers. Reliable projects, such as Metro Rail, plays a crucial role in socio-economic progress for a country. The country now basks with pride and glory as the metro rail is whistling into reality. The citizen of the country is hopeful that this project will relieve from horrendous traffic congestion.