Method of resolving commercial disputes

Besides the traditional method of dispute resolution by the Court, one of the preferred methods that the disputing parties are interested in choosing is to use commercial mediation. Many industrialized countries adopt this system, which is considered an effective commercial conflict settlement method with numerous advantages, including the following: The first advantage of commercial mediation in settling commercial disputes is that it maintains a cooperative connection between the parties while also saving time and money. With friendly nature, mediation is designed in order to maintain and develop relations for both parties’ benefit, and thus, in general, cause less damage to parties’ inherent relation. Second, commercial mediation has easy and flexible methods, when parties have the flexibility of choosing the time and venue for the conciliation proceedings. Moreover, parties are free to participate or not to participate in the mediation while in arbitration, they are bound to arbitration agreement and therefore, cannot choose to withdraw from any arbitral procedure. Unlike arbitration and court proceedings which are generally more adversarial in nature, parties in conciliation proceedings take on a more active role in the discussions and negotiations, with a view to reaching an amicable solution. If an amicable decision is not reached, the parties may instead opt to continue conciliation proceedings or file an application for the dispute to be resolved by commercial arbitration or a competent court. Furthermore, because the parties have the discretion to accept or refuse to conciliate, this method of conflict resolution can keep the company and the disagreement in private. Information exchanged during conciliation proceedings are kept confidential, unless otherwise agreed by the parties or required by law. The parties also have the ability to prefer that the mediation be done openly or privately.