Many people agree that free public transportation should be available in most major cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this idea?

Many people opine that public modes of transport should be free of cost in urban cities. This notion has both advantages and disadvantages. Global warming is on the rise at an alarming rate. This is the effect of emissions, traffic fumes, and waste from automobile industries. Firstly, free public transportation will barely have a detrimental effect on the environment. Fewer private vehicles means less pollution, which further leads to a safe and healthy environment. Secondly, it will aid people to save money, as they do not have to spend a single penny for transportation. In other words, free modes of transport are advantageous not only for the environment but also for human beings Whilst there are advantages to this notion, there are a few drawbacks to consider. One of the major disadvantages is the cost. In order to provide free public transport, the government will have to earmark a huge amount of money. This can put a strain on the public exchequer. Also, since the service does not generate any revenue the government will eventually lose the motivation to spend on its maintenance. Consequently, free public transport may fail to provide a comfortable and safe journey. Over time, poor maintenance may discourage people from using the service. In conclusion, free public transport in urban areas is a definitely a great idea to reduce air pollution and traffic congestion. However, this is not a viable idea because maintaining a service that does not generate any revenue will be difficult for the government in the long run.