Many people agree that free public transportation should be available in most major cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this idea?

It is believed by a number of people that in metropolitan cities, public transportation must be provided without any charges. However, despite the positive aspects of this amenity there are some drawbacks. Both of the rides will be discussed in the forthcoming paragraphs. On the one hand, free travel in public vehicles can certainly bring benefits for the people especially in financial terms. For individuals, as a monetary assistance by authorities as the daily commute fare will be saved. Additionally, on a boarder scale, a considerable impact of this phenomenon is on environment. To illustrate this approach, because public transport will be free, people will give priority to it rather than using their own conveyances. Ultimately, this trend will assist in tiding over population problems as automobiles are a major source of air pollution due to the emission of hazardous fumes into the atmosphere. Eventually, a decrease in traffic congestion will automatically occur due to diminished use of private vehicles. Hence, there are immense advantages of free public transportation. However, on the other hand, it is also possible that free travel in public vehicles can put detrimental effects on the smooth functioning of governmental policies. For instance, in a recent publication, it stated that in developed countries, income from public transportation accounts for 6: 1 to 12: 1 of the GDP. Therefore, it is obvious that this considerable proportion of revenue will not be available and further expenditures such as maintenance, investment and salaries will put an additional financial burden on authorities which could have been used in alternative needy sectors. So, it cannot be considered as a wise decision to make public transportation free of charge. In conclusion, even though many people suggest to make urban transportation to facilitate the journeys for city dwellers, it will not help the bodies economically which is the major drawback against several benefits of this suggestion.