Memorisation is a widely used technique in many education systems around the world. Some people are in favour of it while there are many who think it has no place in education.

People have different views about the role of memorization in education as being favorable or as not being effective at all. While learning-by-heart method has some drawbacks to be considered, I believe that it still plays its part in education systems. There are several reasons why we should still keep memorizing techniques in learning pathways. First of all, certain academic subjects such as history, geography, medicine and law demands crucial points and facts to be lingered as a memory. For example, in the field of medicine, you have to know the exact normal values of blood electrolyte levels, which only after knowing can proceed to a definite diagnosis and correct treatment. Secondly, no matter how much you understand and visualize the meaning of a lecture, you have to learn it as a memory since exams test for the level of memory as well as the concept of a designated semester. Finally, memorization helps students learn faster and saves time when tests are drawing nearer. On the other hand, I do not view memorization as a key part in learning academic subjects. One reason is that students who tend to depend too much on memory learning will eventually lack critical thinking skills. This is very alarming since the actual concept of a lecture is lost behind parrot education. As a result, many students might end up being deficient in creativity and imagination, which are one of the imperative skills in adult life. For instance, school leavers of parrot education are more likely to face more struggles in catching up lectures of abroad studies as well as in their career prospects that prioritize creativity and imagination. In conclusion, I would argue that learning as a memory still has its portion in education, although there are some dark sides of practicing it.