Medical care over the past decades has improved significantly and as a result, the world’s population is increasingly living long into mature age. In my opinion, this development can create a major disturbance in the living cycle of the world and thus, benefits will far outweigh the drawbacks. In this essay, we will

There are numerous advantages of the improving life span of individuals to the society and to begin with, it gives personal happiness by providing the opportunity to live longer and spend more times with loved ones. People will obtain more time to bond with their families and do the activities they loved doing together. For instance, my grandmother is 90 years old and wishes to live a few more years to see and bond with her grandchildren, consequently it brings her hope and happiness. Another benefit is that the government and many more can make use of the knowledge and experiences of the retired personnel and learn from them. The government may seek advice from the older mind with regards to some laws that would be implemented, likewise young generation may ask wisdom from retired person with regards to their careers. To illustrate this, when a young person wants to become a doctor, he or she needs a professional teacher that has more experience, so a retired doctor could be a great help on this. On the other side of the argument, there are certain issues of having a lengthy life. Firstly, whenever an individual turns a year older the risk of getting sick also increases and as a consequence it requires more of the government's medical resources. For example, the government should spend more fund in building more facilities for the aged people like shelter and hospitals. A further downside is that living longer does not necessarily bring happiness. By this I mean, an older person is no longer fit to do many of the activities that they enjoyed doing like playing sports and dancing, leading to the likelihood of depression and a deterioration in their physical health. To conclude, evaluating both sides of the argument, I believe that, while old age brings a number of problems-predominantly government fund-related, the advantages that it provides to the family units and the community as a whole are far more significant.