Meat production requires relatively more land than crop production. Some people think that as land is becoming scarce, the world’s meat consumption should be reduced. What measures should be taken to reduce the world’s meat consumption? What kinds of problem might such measures cause?

Nowadays, one of the major environmental problems is the availability of land. Many people think that the rate of meat consumption around the world need to be reduced due to the lack availability of land to utilize as farms. The fact that meat production need larger areas than crop productions has led perspective to avoid consuming meats. This essay will discuss possible measures that can be used to reduce the rate consumption of red meat and followed by the effects that can appear as the result of those methods. There are several fundamental methods to reduce the rate of meat consumption. To begin with, with the help of the health sectors, the private sectors, NGOs and individuals, the government should acknowledge society about the healthy lifestyles. They need to provide decent information and encourage people to have a healthy lifestyles which strongly related to the healthy diet. Subsequently, by consuming more red meats, people are more prone to have serious ills, such as heart disease, cancer, diabetes and obesity. However, these measure can lead to another problem relates to human rights. Every people have their freedom to decide what kind of food they want to consume. Also, they always mention that the main source of protein comes from meats, so if they could not consume meat, their diet would be unbalanced. Also, another measure that can be taken to reduce meat consumption around the world is the improvement of the food technology processing. The food technology processing, as this argument goes, is the soundest way to make artificial meats which use plants as basic ingredients. This trend of food consumption is become more popular for the past five years. Nonetheless, there are some consequences that can appear by this measure. One of the main problems is the unhealthiness of based-plants meats. The artificial meats could have done many stages, which make them categorized as an ultra-processed food. Ultra-processed foods are very unhealthy and carcinogenic. To conclude, several fundamental methods to reduce the rate of meat consumption around the world are providing decent information and encouraging people to have a healthy lifestyles which strongly related to the healthy diet and also improving the food technology processing in order to produce artificial meats.