Meat production requires relatively more land than crop production. Some people think that as land is becoming scarce, the world’s meat consumption should be reduced. What measures could be taken to reduce the world’s meat consumption? What kinds of problem might such measures cause?

Although crop production demands more land space than meat production, there are a staggering proportion of meat eaters around the world. There is a widespread perception exists among several people such as the land space is shrinking at all quarters of the earth and consequently meat consumption must be controlled. In this essay we shall see some measures on how meat consumption can be controlled and will there be any challenges in implementing the steps. To begin with, a considerable level of awareness and sensitisation should be made in our society such a way, that people must be able to understand the benefits of abandoning eating meat. Various surveys illustrate that the consumption of red meat is the primary cause of chronic cancer and diabetes. Furthermore, increasing the number of livestock like cattle and sheep stimulate a devastating effect on our earth’s atmosphere, as these livestock releases huge amounts of methane gas to our atmosphere which in turn produces adversities and depletes our ozone layer. This message should be included in the school curriculum so that the children will be educated thereby, they will share this message with their parents and to their extended family. Having said all that, we don’t live in a society of utopia. Therefore, we cannot expect people to comprehend such noble message very soon. We cannot expect their full co-operation in neither abandoning nor reducing consumption of meat. If we enforce steps to abandon meat production, it would trigger a huge uproar and widespread condemnation from all quarters against human rights and privileges. To recapitulate, meat consumption has to be controlled with an iron fist. If not, this would swallow all our pastures and greeneries from our earth, thereby making our land space as unfit for cultivation or agriculture.