Measures have been put in place to improve road safety by reducing the speed limits. Some people believe there are better alternatives.

Some would argue that limit down the speed of cars is helpful to enhance safety on roads while others think that there are some other alternatives which need to be considered. Although speed limitation can be controlled accidents, I believe that other options should be valued. On the one hand, those who support the idea of slow speed cite the various benefits of a safe trip on roads. These range from saving lives to enhance responsibility. For example, there is a rule in Canada not to drive so fast, and this has been working well since it was imposed; there are the least accidents from that time. Another argument is if people drive at a slow speed then they can easily control their cars in case they face any mishappening on the roads. However, I believe that there are some other safety measures too which should not be neglected. By contrast, opponents of this viewpoint out that prohibition to use cell phones while driving is the best way to save people from causalities. Examples can be seen in developed countries where there is a rule that not to listen to phone calls or messages while driving. Moreover, their governments impose certain penalties on those people who break down the regulations. So, the number of accidents is very limited in those countries. Therefore, I believe that this should be imposed very strictly. For the reasons mentioned above, it seems to me that speed is just only one factor whilst there are some other factors too, and those are more beneficial to shape our societies.