: Mathematics and the sciences such as biology, physics and chemistry will be taught and learnt in English and other foreign languages in our school system. What do you think of the decision?

As the world become increasingly integrated, there arises an urgent need in the proficiency in foreign languages in both communication and professional terms. Conscious of the advantages of integrating English as well as other foreign languages as the communal language for teachers and learners, the government has proposed a novel curriculum in which natural science subjects will be taught and learnt in English. From my perspective, this project, albeit good causes, generates great reconsideration due to issues related to the language level of both students and teachers, discrepancy between developed and underdeveloped regions. To begin with, when it comes to English-based subjects, the benefits associated are previous in the linguistic proficiency itself and heightened opportunity for overseas study. In other words, the practice of teaching and learning natural sciences such as biology, physics and chemistry in English gives students increased exposure to the language and trains them to think in English, hence boosting their responsiveness in communication coupled with improvement in professional expertise. Consequently, the students are further equipped to partake in international workshops regarding the subjects which is followed by better chances of studying abroad. Nevertheless, there are major concerns that deserves great attention in the process of implementation the proposal in which linguistic competency comes first. It is an unpalatable fact that the overall level of language proficiency is unequal, creating great obstacles in imparting and digesting knowledge. As a matter of fact, there is a serious lack of well-qualified teachers who are both professionally and linguistically competent in that while young teachers have an edge over their previous generations with regards to foreign language learning, the reverse is true when it comes to experience. Students on the receiving end suffer from a limited understanding as a result of language barrier, leading to appreciable decline in quality of education. Another aspect that warrants room for reconsideration lies in the huge regional inequities in the event the project is put into practice. Obviously rural areas will confront enormous difficulties in implementing the proposal because of more severe shortage of human resources and a much lower language level compared to cities. This may well lead to a large disparity in the results of study, hightening the disadvantages of rural students. In conclusion, the proposed change in the curriculum though tempting due to its crystal-clear benefits should be taken into due consideration owing to the hardships involved in the execution of the plan. In view of the current ability of teachers and students, it may be a bit impulsive to integrate English in the teaching and learning of science disciplines. Rather, the education system should put greater emphasis on English proficiency of both students and teachers in order that they are well-prepared to perform their educational roles at their best.