Many young people nowadays keep changing their job. What are the reasons for this? How does this trend affect young people and society?

In contemporary society, it has become increasingly common for young people to alternate between jobs regularly. The following essay will give some insights into why some people choose to do so and discuss the effects of this trend on young people and on society. There are several reasons why people change their job frequently. Many graduates believe that having experience working in multiple companies might help them negotiate for better salary and benefits. By working in several different lines of work one after another, these people hope that it can help them diversify their sets of skills and impress the next organization they apply to. A good example for this is an English teacher who worked as an interpreter before applying for a teaching position. Another reason is the uncertainty of young people with their career. Because of peer pressure and lack of proper job orientations from their teachers, high school graduates might take and complete degrees or diplomas without real interest in those qualifications. Left with no true passion and purposes in life after graduation, young people try to experience as many jobs as possible just to find what suits them. Take those with a business administration degree as an example, it is common for these people to work jobs outside their major. On the other hand, this practice still brings about a number of unwanted impacts on both individual and social levels. For companies, this trend poses particular problems to them. Different jobs require different skill sets and it is often the case that new employees have to be trained from beginning to meet the standards of their new workplace. This takes a lot of time, money and efforts from the company and by the time these new trainees are ready with their new tasks, it is time for them to change job again. The experience they include in their resumé might be nothing more than just a few months when they learn and not actually work. All resources that the company spent on training them are wasted when they apply for another establishment. An English center might waste several months on training a new teacher just for him to quit soon after and work for their competitor. On an individual level, job hopping might impair one’s career prospect. Instead of spending time to hone and perfect their craft, job hoppers squander their most productive years on working multiple unrelated short-term jobs. This shows that they are disloyal and unwilling to be employed by a company for long, which might deter new ones from accepting their application. A candidate who has only 3 years of experience but has already worked for more than 5 companies might raise some questions from the recruiter. In conclusion, changing jobs frequently might help young people have an expansive skill set but it might not be entirely beneficial for them. Employers might see that as a sight of untrustworthiness and consequently reject their application.