Many young children have unsupervised access of the internet and are using the internet to socialize with others. This has can lead to a number of dangerous situations which can be threatening for children. What problems do children face when going online without parental supervision? How can these problems be solved?

The use of the internet has been increasing tremendously and children are becoming accustomed to the ways it can be accessed and how to socialize with people. This can jeopardize their safety and might lead to risky situations. Children are not mature enough to know what dangers the internet possesses. They might end up chatting with some stranger revealing personal information about them or their family members. Further, they could come across videos shared by others that might be violent or contain filthy language or any A-rated content for that matter. Hence, parental supervision is necessary when children use the internet. One way could be that they should install child locks on every device from which a child can go online; like their phones, applications, computers, and even televisions. This would prevent them to access any unauthorized sites. Further, it should be the responsibility of every parent to make their children aware of the threats of the internet and dos and don’ts while using it. For instance, a parent can tell his/her child to not disclose phone numbers or addresses on the internet. More importantly, they should teach him about the advantages of the internet and how to make the best use of it. To conclude, a parent should check up on his/her child for her betterment and there are several ways to ensure it like talking to the child and giving them access only to the relevant sites.