Many university graduates cannot find a job in their chosen profession. What factors may have caused this situation and what in your opinion should be done about it.

University graduates are expected to find a career in their chosen field. However, more and more graduates nowadays are having difficulties in landing a job within the industry they want to be part of. This essay will discuss the reasons why such scenario is happening, and my opinion on what should be done to resolve this issue. One of the factors why many former students cannot find work on their chosen field is due to the lack of job demand within the industry. This can be attributed to the evolution of technology where robots are expected to replace humans in the work field. For example, bank tellers are expected to be obsolete by 2030 due to the advance, convenient, and user-friendly nature of online banking and atm machines. Another factor is the saturation of job market within the industry due to its high demand from the employers. To illustrate, sometime in early 2000s, there was a high demand of nurses abroad, hence, many students in the Philippines took up nursing courses in the hope of getting a job in another country. However, due to influx of nursing graduates, a number of former nursing students had a hard time finding jobs in the medical field. As a result, a plethora of ex-students ended up in call centre industry. In my opinion, these problems can only be addressed through upgrading of skills to stay relevant and in-demand in their chosen profession. For instance, newly graduates can take up further studies, such as Masters Degree or post graduate degree that can help them advance their skills and knowledge. Hence, this will open a lot of opportunities for their careers and several employers will find their resumes more enticing. To conclude, despite having difficulties for new graduates in finding work in their chosen occupation due to job market saturation and threats of modern technology, they must also learn to advance their skills and knowledge in order to stay relevant and competitive. I strongly believe that by taking up advance studies will help them progress in their careers and land a job in their chosen field.