Many young children are now overweight and obesity is a growing problem in many parts of the world. What are the main causes of this problem? Can anything be done to solve this issue?

It is acknowledged to say that there has been a dramatic increase in the number of overweight children in many places of the world. This problem can be attributed to a host of factors, and I believe we could put a stop to this trend by the joint effort of family and the government. There are two main driving causes behind the rise in obesity among young teenagers. First and foremost, the sedentary lifestyle is to blame for. Children nowadays tend to engage in screentime activities such as watching television or playing computer games, which leads to a lack of exercise and therefore they are more likely to put on weight. In addition, youngsters now have an unhealthy diet. This is due to the prevalence of fast food and the young often find it tough to resist the eye-catching forms of these food items, so they make their parents grab a snack on the go. As a result, many of them have excessive consumption of junk food that contains saturated fats and added sugar and be more able to gain weight rapidly. This eating habit, accompanied by a lack of physical activities, has made a lot of school-aged students become obese. There are several measures that could be implemented to deal with this problem. On the governmental level, they should introduce a ban on junk food advertising so as to make fast food less temping to children. Moreover, the state should impose high tax on unhealthy food in order to lower the production of fatty food. On the parental level, parents should let their children do regular exercise and prepare home-cooked meals for their them. Furthermore, both schools and parents should shoulder the responsibility to educate the young to control their intake of harmful fats and hence make healthier food options. In conclusion, the surge in obesity rates can be resulted from the lack of physical participation level and unhealthy diet, and this issue can be solved by the government and the people.