Many university students cannot find a job in their chosen profession What factors may have caused this situation and what in your opinion should be done about it

When young people are choosing what subject to study at university, most of them hope they will find a great job upon graduation. In reality many fresh graduates fail to find work in their fields and some are even forced to take up below graduate jobs. In my opinion, the root cause of this problem lies in the outdated higher education system that should be modernized. Traditional university education does not prepare students for their job for a number of reasons. One of them is that many programmes are too theoretical. It means that highly educated graduates lacks simple skills required for employment, for example, the knowledge of IT software. Employers, therefore, prefer candidates with hand-on experience. Another reason is that universities offer too many courses in popular fields such as law and business, and do not recruit enough students for engineering and science programmes. This is amply illustrated by the fact that current UK labour market has an oversupply of law graduates and a deficit of engineers. A reform of higher education could alleviate many of the problems but would require joint efforts from universities and the government. If higher institutions would work closer with the employers, they could teach students practical skills that companies are looking for. Meanwhile, government could also develop guidelines on how many students universities should enroll in each course in accordance with the market demand. In conclusion, a likely reason why many graduates cannot find a job in their field because university education might not provide them the right skill set for an in-demand profession. I think that universities and the government could improve the situation by updating the content of the programmes and limiting the number of students in each subject in line with the market demand