Many television programs show pictures of events in the news which people find upsetting. While television has a duty to report important news, it should not bring disturbing images to people’s homes.

Nowadays violence, crime, natural disasters are widely spread to an extent that they become accepted by too many people as norm, as something which is part of life. Unfortunately, television plays a significant role in these beliefs by repeating negative news over and over again deliberately. On the one hand, information is easily accessible. However, while it is a duty of television to report all the latest news, it seems to be completely indifferent to the victim’s feelings who are never asked for permission to be shown on TV. It might be terrifying not only for them but for their family and friends. Likewise, it is frightening those who are watching. I am strongly against all the negativism and terror that is imposed on the viewers. On the other hand, if, by any chance, there is positive news, it is given almost no attention. It is announced by the way, among other things and hardly repeated twice. People who are aware of that and whose consciousness is higher than the average refuse to watch television as they refuse to be manipulated. Fortunately, their number is increasing which means that this is not a losing fight. In conclusion, it is true that important news should be reported but not in the way it is being done now. There should be a time slot and in this way people will be able to choose what to be informed about. For the time being, all the negativism is imposed on the people, leading to denial of TV. Sooner or later, television will become aware of this process. It will realize that what needs to be done is raising the quality of its programmes and spread courage and hope to win back their potential customers.