Many teachers assign homework to students everyday. Do you think that daily homework is necessary for students? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

To assimilate what students learn during school hours daily homeworks are assigned by teachers in every part of the world. Although I agree that daily homeworks are an important and fundamental part of student education, too many can become counterproductive. Not every teenager or kid is a model student, willing to go the extra mile to understand the topic at hand, so if the workload is too heavy an average student will decide to skip homework all together. It’s a game of balance, an experienced teacher should be able to know how much to make the student work at home, based on the class and the topic that they are studying. Moreover, giving exercises and daily assignments can not substitute the lessons in class. Simplifying and making students assimilate more easily intricate topics are the main priority of the educator. Once they achieve that, teachers can use homework as a tool to investigate if the class did really grasp that particular matter. On the other hand this method is best suited for scientific subjects like maths, physics or chemistry; while for humanistic studies like history or literature, the student is usually asked to read or memorize the content of a chapter. These types of home assignments require more time and easily disincentivize the students. However, teachers can find more easy and approachable exercises to avoid this kind of scenario. So, in conclusion, I partially agree with the statement (that daily homework is important) but teachers should always keep in mind the global workload of the students and, when possible, try to ease the process of learning by holding on to difficult homework and demystifying complex topics in class.