Many students live far away from their parents to go to universities in big cities. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Many people are of the opinion that in today's global world, many students opt for living without the presence of their parents to go to universities in sprawling cities. While this tendency may have some adverse demerits, I strongly argue that they are eclipsed by the benefits. On the one hand, living separately from parents has some downsides for adolescent learners. To commence with, pursuing higher education in metropolitan regions may have higher tuition fees which is not suitable for students having an unstable financial background. Therefore, the under-privileged have to do part time jobs to earn extra money can arguably result in workplace bullying and labor abuse. Thus, those job burdens potentially trigger prolonged fatigue that can be a precursor to mental health related diseases. In addition, young learners are susceptible to temptations in vibrant cities. Precisely, children are likely to be in contact with numerous kinds of people so they can be manipulated to use addictive substances or drugs, leading to poor academic performance. On the other hand, despite aforementioned shortcomings, the merits are far more significant. The first worth mentioning one is that metropolitan regions are home to reputable and prestigious universities. This advantage helps children to be exposed to cutting-edge facilities and highly qualified professors so they can widen specialized knowledge and academic abilities in an ideal learning environment. Another benefit is that attending higher education in big cities facilitates students in seeking jobs suited to their abilities in their post-graduate life. Moreover, learners can cultivate essential soft skills. The reasoning lies behind the fact that they need to deal with various circumstances and difficulties on their own ranging from doing household chores to managing monthly budgets, which shapes them to self-reliant and confident individuals in the future. In summary, although living in a big cities without the presence of parents may trigger various problems, I am strongly convinced that the merits are more considerable.