In some cultures, parents will play an important and decisive role in their children’s life after they leave home to start a job or to go to university. In other cultures, children are assumed to be independent at that stage in their life and make their own decisions. What should the role of the parents be in children’s lives after they leave home? Take a clear stance and provide good reasons and detailed examples to support your answer.

The role of the parents in children’s lives after they grow up and become independent varies across cultures. While in the East, parents often intervene deeply and play a decisive role even after their children have left the family, it is quite the opposite in the West, once children have reached adulthood, they will decide their own lives independently. Personally, I believe that, whether in the East or the West, parents still play a very important role in the development of children, even when they are adults. Parents always play the role of emotional support for their children in life not only when they are children but also when they grow up. As they grow up, especially when leaving the family to be independent, children often face more pressure, which inevitably leads to stress in work, relationships, as well as in daily life. They may fail, make mistakes and even if the whole world turns their back on them, they always have parents there by their side, sharing positive energy and encouraging them to overcome difficulties. As children grow up, parents should only play the role of contributing instead of imposing. Children are mature when they can be independent and make their own decisions and take responsibility for their own lives. Parents are people who have a lot of life experience, giving advice and suggestions so that their children can consider making decisions. It will be much more reasonable and better than forcing them to follow parent’s requests or decisions. In fact, it is often counterproductive for parents to intervene too deeply in children's decisions, such as marriage or parenting. In short, parents to their children are still the closest people. Regardless of the culture, parents still play an important role in the development of their children. However, depending on each developmental stage of the children, the intervention of parents in their lives will need certain adjustments to be appropriate.