Many students find it difficult to concentrate or pay attention when they study online. What are the reasons?

“Social-distancing” or “lockdown” terms are becoming more and more popular in the COVID-19 pandemic. When these laws are enacted by the government, people around the world have to convert face-to-face activities into online interaction from work to study. Particularly, educational institutions are looking toward online learning platforms to continue with the process of educating students. However, online learning ways make students decrease their productivity due to a lack of concentration. This essay will illustrate the reasons why students are in trouble with paying attention in digital learning course. Unstable internet connection is one of the first obstacles in achieving a high effective concentration of students. Although internet penetration has grown increasingly over the years, a decent speed is not still ensured. For example, if a class has about 40 students and all of them visit the online classroom at the same time, maybe internet connection will be overload and several students might not smoothly approach the lecture. On the other hand, without a consistent internet speed, teachers will be difficult with delivering knowledge to students and that is the result in less focus on online lecture. Another big challenge for students in participating in online learning platforms is the struggle with paying attention to the screen for a long period of time. Firstly, physical health problems are giant barriers. With postures such as staying hunched or watching in front of a screen for one or two hours, which cause pain in the neck and eyes of students, therefore, they may leave the desk and their interest in online learning contents have decreased significantly. Secondly, students are easily distracted by social networks or other sites when studying online. Because the online learning process has no interaction between students and teachers, students can access other websites freely to play games, read newspapers or chat with friends without worrying about teachers finding out. In conclusion, less concentration is the first consequence of online educational process that need to be concerned more by educators and learning institutions. The reasons mentioned above could be a good basis to help them come up with appropriate solutions to improve the quality of students' learning.