Many students are choosing not to study science in the university. Why is it happen? And what is the effect on the society?

It is decided by many students not to pursue science subjects in the higher education. This essay is going to discuss the cause of the phenomenon and the impact on the society. It is supposed by many that science won't bring enormous advantages to one's life and it makes people hesitate to study science. One of the reasons people believe that the positive impacts are minimum is the stigma that science has no application in real life. Many believes that science such as biology, chemistry, and physics will be only useful in the laboratory and not in the daily life. They choose to pursue subjects which can be useful in life rather than throwing money to study a useless subject. It is also believed by many that the job range for being science student is very limited with a minimum salary. The society perception is that they could only be a scientist or a researcher by studying science in university. People think that it will waste a lot of time and money for "only" become a scientist, which believed that doesn't have a steady income. Those two reasons bring a great impact to the society, especially in this modern era which science is highly developing. The stigma grows in the people's mindset and prevent them to have more information about science. It brings a lot of inefficiency in the science development due the minimum amount of scientist, caused by the little amount of science student. In conclusion, many students are choosing not to study science in tertiary education due the stigma of science doesn't have a real life application. People also believe that choosing science as an area of study won't give them broad job vacancy with a high salary. Thus, it makes a big inefficiency in the science development.