Many societies are plagued with high crime rate. What are the causes of crime in these societies, and how can this problem be addressed?

The rate of crime in society these days is quite alarming. This trend has reasons behind them as well as methods on how to solve them, which will be discussed below. The high crime rate in society is attributed to some factors. One of such factor is unemployment. Being without a job is often the main reason why so many people commit crimes. Another factor in the increased crime rate is peer pressure. Many young people commit offenses because they see their peers engaging in such acts. It is mainly common among high school and entry-level university students. For example, an article reported that an entry-level undergraduate student was caught smuggling hard drugs for her peers into the campus. However, there are some ways to tackle the high crime rate in society. Firstly, report any crime immediately to the right authorities. Secondly, reducing the rate at which organizations layoff staff. Victims of forced layoffs lose their livelihoods, and are prone to depression because of the sudden change in their financial lives and the uncertainty about their future work prospects. For instance, my neighbor, who used to work with a bank, now sells hard drugs. In conclusion, the reason behind the high crime rate in society is due to joblessness, and peer pressure. Nevertheless, this can be tackled by reporting any criminal case, and reducing force layoffs.