Many small, local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. How does this effect local communities? How could this situation be improved?

Specially in the cities mane local shops unable to run their business because of large supermarkets. Closing small shops would effect to their owners as well as to local livers. Situation could be improved by increasing level of service and no frequent price changes. To begin with, there are several effects of being closed small shops to local communities and to their owners. Firstly, it can be reason of getting depressed and even sick as most small shops holders are in pension age. Secondly, people who are already got used to purchase nearby to them may feel discomfort reason of not finding their needs quickly, standing in long queues which will not happen in small shops. To run business and being able to compete with large supermarkets, small shops need to increase variety of their products, paying more attention to display- visual merchandiser, enhancing level of customer service. In addition, product price easily gets change in small shops because of no control behind them but all supermarkets are very strict and serious about product price stabilization. In conclusion, I think small markets need to copy or learn from big supermarkets way of service and displaying that could effect their business.