Many prople prefer to watch sport on TV rather than playing it themselves. Why is this case? What problems can this cause?

It is true that these days people tend to watch and enjoy sport programmes on television rather than partake in physical activities. There are a number of reasons behind this trend and several problems have resulted from this practice. There two primary causes why watching sports on TV is so popular to many people. One reason is that these sport programmes could help to improve mental health. When people enjoy sports on television, they could feel a sense of satisfaction, vigour and enthusiasm which could decrease stress and depression in life. Furthermore, people are likely to have a chance to broaden their sport horizons through these programmes. They could have a good grasp of rules and technical specifications of a game they watch on TV. As there is an upward trend in watching sports on television, several related problems can be anticipated. The main issue is that spending too much time in front of the screen is detrimental to health. People who have a sedentary lifestyle are prone to be obesity which could carry potential health problems, such as heart disease or diabetes. Another problem is that they could not improve their level of sport skills. This is because no matter how much sport knowledge people accumulate they would not make any progress in physical activities they take part in without trying to practice. In conclusion, some causes of this problem can be identified, and the serious effects on people spending too much time watching sports on TV should not be underestimated.