Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. Others believe that international sporting events bring more problems than benefits

Organizing international sporting events is believed to be a way to enhance the reputation of their nation. Though others do not agree with this idea, I firmly believe that hosting international sporting events results in more problems than benefits. A considerable proportion of people are in favor of the idea to host major sporting events in the belief that hosting such events will bring in revenue and foreign exchange for their respective countries. The most prominent and commonly held perception of such events is that such events will attract thousands of people from all over the world and contribute handsomely to the economy as such visitors would stay in and around the host cities and the local economy of the host will benefit immensely. For example, millions of people throng to host countries and cities to view events such as the Olympics and World Cups. The remaining people think that the hosting of such events results in more negatives than positives. Hosting an international sporting event places a heavy financial burden on the host as sporting arenas have to be renovated to meet international standards and adequate infrastructures such as accommodation and restaurants have to be built to manage these mega-events. The raising of these structures which are used only for a few days imposes a heavy burden and budgets tend to triple or quadruple, financially crippling the host cities. For instance, the Canadian city of Montreal has only recently managed to repay the debts incurred for the Montreal Olympics almost 45 years ago. In conclusion, though the hosting of international events brings a lot of prestige to host cities and countries, it cripples cities with huge debts, causing fiscal for decades. Hence, hosting international sporting events results in more problems than positives.