Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. Others believe that international sporting events bring more problems than benefits. Discuss both views and your opinion

As a sports lover, I look forward to sporting events. Some of these events are annual, such as the Grand Slam tournaments in tennis, while others, such as the Olympics and World Cup Football, take place once every four years. Lately, these events have been witnessing protests from citizens in the host countries. These protestors view the sporting events as a waste of resources. Organizing a spectacle such as the Olympics requires investments worth billions of dollars. Huge infrastructure projects are undertaken: airports, roads, sports stadiums, sports villages. Some people believe that this money should be spent on economic development of the nation, on education of its children, and on removing poverty. Not surprisingly, there were protests in Brazil before the 2016 Rio Olympics. Corruption is another concern. There is lack of transparency in awarding these large infrastructure projects. A huge scandal errupted in India after the 2012 Commonwealth Games. Inquiries revealted that bribes were paid to bag contracts. Finally, the head of the organization committee had to tender his resignation. However, there is another side to the story. Sporting events offer numerous advantages to the organizing country. Infrastructure projects generate employment and upgraded infrastucture can also boost the economy. Tourism sector benefits from sports tourism. Moreover, every city that has hosted the Olympics, enjoys a special stature today. It can leverage this experience to host global trade and industry events. Such measures can boost the economic activity in the country. While there are detractors, I believe that advantages of hosting sporting events outweigh the concerns. Like sportsmen and sportswomen, the organizers should uphold ideals of fairness and integrity. All dealings must be above board. Sports must go on.