The first smartphone was released in 1992. By the year 2022 there may be as many as 3 billion smartphones in the world. The use of smartphones is decreasing our collective intelligence because we are reliant on the technology and not our minds.

Ever since the first smartphone was launched, the mobile industry has undergone a dramatic transformation. Cell phones today perform a lot of tasks that only a few decades ago no one could have imagined. In my opinion, smartphones have made our lives easier but this has come at a cost and we are now very dependant on these devices and this is certainly having a negative impact on our collective intelligence. These devices are becoming an integral part of our lives and play an important role and control a number of activities that we do on a daily basis. Smartphones have applications that perform a number of tasks like a calculator to do simple maths to writing aid applications with auto correct and writing suggestions which aim at reducing human effort and improving the quality and speed at which work is done but the result is that we are reducing the use of our minds and intelligence and are becoming dependent and reliant on these devices to complete our work. Children are more prone and affected by the usage of these devices which are quite handy and easy to easy. Studies have shown that watching a lot of cartoons and videos on smartphones at an early age may impair the learning and speaking areas of the brain making children develop certain autistic features which makes them socially awkward and isolated. These effects may be life long and require intensive therapy and expert intervention to undo the damages caused to the brain. This is a clear indication of how dangerous the dependance of smartphones can be on even adults who often panic and feel that they are crippled when they cannot find their phone or when it is out of battery. In conclusion, while smartphones allow us to access and do a lot of things and it seems the world is at our fingertips, the reality is we are becoming increasingly dependant on these devices and this is impeding the mind growth in children and lowering our overall intellectual capabilities.