Many people think we have to focus on the extinction of certain animal species, while others think we should pay attention to the problems of human beings.

Many animal species face serious threat of extinction in the tropical region, not by predators in the wild, but as a result of the activities of poachers. It is argued that people should have more emphasis on the extinction of some animal species compared to the problems facing man. This essay is targeted at discussing both views and giving an opinion on the subject matter. Firstly, the preservation of endangered species from going into extinction will help balance the ecosystem, and overall, generate revenue for government. This can be achieved through the formation of conservation Center used for tourism. For example, the Frontier conservation Center in Lekki has been a huge source of revenue for the government, generating 20% of the GDP of Nigeria. Hence, it is expedient to focus on the preservation of endangered species. On the other hand, proffering solutions to the gigantic problems facing man, such as the polio disease, will reduce child mortality rate in the society. Through the advancement of technology, scientists have discovered vaccines for polio disease, which are given to children freely. For example, statistics have shown that child mortality rate in 2020, as a result of polio disease, has reduced drastically by 40%. Thus it can be deduced that paying attention to the problems, and proffering solutions to them, is beneficial to man. In conclusion, it is my opinion that focusing on human problems, with the aim of solving them, is more beneficial in the long run than preserving endangered species from going extinct. However, protecting these animals from poachers, and forming a policy that favours them will be a worthwhile venture.