Many people think we have to focus on the extinction of certain animal species, while others think we should pay attention to the problems of human beings.

The quest for advancement in different fields means that man must interact with his environment. Some argue that human life should take precedent over the conservation of animal species. While others think that there must be a balance in the exploitation of animal resources to avoid a total wipe of their population. This essay discusses both viewpoints and subsequently agrees with the former assertion. Industries rely on raw materials for the mass manufacturing of products. These raw materials are extracted at times, from animals. Hence, making people's lives better. For example, hide and skin from livestock namely, sheep are used in making essential items like clothes. As a result, enhancing the quality of life. However, the rise in activities such as "trophy hunting", which happens when a tourist pays to kill exotic animals for sports. These preventable and unnecessary killings have led to a drastic reduction in the population of some wildlife thus, adversely affecting the ecosystem. For instance, a 2019 report compiled by an animal's right group in Kenya, revealed that tourists from western countries were responsible for the death of 80 giraffes in Kruger national park. Therefore, the Indiscriminate hunting of animal species negatively affects the balance of nature. While the benefits from the products made with the raw materials from animals are essential, some still feel that the senseless killing of animals harms sustainable development. However, as long as we are careful with maintaining the balance of the ecosystem, I think that products such as clothes and herbal medicines made with raw materials from animals are important for human survival.