Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

It is believed by some people that advertisement compels us to spend on products not needed. Owing to other people, however, advertisements show us the items for our betterment. I agree with the former opinion, and consider that the highly budgeted marketing strategies of companies compel people to buy unnecessary things. On the one hand, it is the successful methodologies of the marketing department that boosted the selling process. Companies sell their products individually, which leaves one with no other option but to buy them and properly advertise and justify the act. For instance, the iPhone 12 was released without a charger so that they can sell it separately and make a profit and people have to buy it if they are new users, but the claim in the advertisement was environmental cleanliness factor. Also, the connectivity and transferability techniques among products of the same factory, such as the Apple Watch and iPad do not let the end-user get the products of another company. Hence, such well-structured and planned advertisement methodologies of rich companies force one to buy. On the other hand, the items are placed in shops in such a way that catches one’s attraction. Because the finishing is so good and placed at the entrance, kids accompanying people demand them to buy. Take the example of chocolates and bubble gums, which are less needy things, are placed with the cashier counter that one places in his cart unintentionally because it appeals to them a lot. Furthermore, the follow-up patterns such as arrows on the ground or carpet colours lead one to the place of expensive items that one never thought of buying while leaving for shopping from home. To sum up, human behaviour is well-studied, and methods are implemented wisely that creates an urge to buy the item. In conclusion, to attract people to sell a product, a need is created that pushes one to buy that without having a second option.