The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

English, which is the most widely spoken language, one day might predominate all other languages, resulting in the eventual disappearance of other languages. Having one language would certainly aid understanding and economic growth, but there will also be some drawbacks. One evident benefit to having one global language is that it would enable greater understanding between countries. In other words, if everyone spoke one language, there would be complete understanding between all people throughout the world. And, this would promote learning and the flow of information and ideas. Another reason that one language would be advantageous is that it would help economic growth. With all people speaking the same language, there would be fewer barriers; therefore, the trade would flourish between countries, resulting in a healthier world economy. On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages to having only one global language. Firstly, it would mean that all other languages would eventually disappear and, along with them, their cultures. The diversity of cultures is one of the joys this world has to offer. Each culture is unique with its way of life and perspectives, which would all be lost if there existed only one language. Secondly, it would result in the collapse of tourism because there would be no reason to travel for pleasure and interest if all countries had the same language and similar cultures. It would devastate many countries economically that rely on tourism as a source of income. In conclusion, while there are plus points to having one global language, too much would be lost as a result. Maintaining local languages and cultures should be prioritized to ensure a rich world heritage for future generations.