Many people think that too much attention and resources are given to the protection of wild animals and birds.

Human is responsible for a variety of environmental problem. There has long been controversy on overspending on protecting wildlife and some people think too much attention is spent on such issue. I totally agree that more resources should be allocated to other practical aspects instead of focusing too much on preserving wildlife. Among all the reasons, probably the most significant one is that if the government attaches inordinate importance on protecting wildlife, other public services may be neglected of their needs for more resources such as housing and welfare. One of the roles of the government is to ensure the sustainable life of citizens such as provide public services to help a country function properly. When too much funding is given to preserve wildlife but not maintain the quality of public service, people would be dissatisfied. The overloaded medical system is a striking example and it has long been a hot issue as the queuing time at public hospitals is too long while the underprivileged are not able to afford private service. Their rights to receive fair treatment is deprived. Citizens would feel that the government has turned a blind eye on their plight and in turn lower their sense of satisfaction to the government. Never should we overlook that fact that taxpayers give their hard-earned money to the government but it is not fair if they cannot enjoy the benefits. The government should place citizens' interest at their first priority when they plan for resource allocation. Medical resources, housing and infrastructures are directly related to citizens' quality of life, while seeing blue sky and birds are luxury. It is not saying that we shall neglect the importance of protecting nature, but we should make a balance to put citizens' interest at the first consideration. Under this line of thinking, although preserving nature deserve our attention, never should the government overlook that maintaining citizens' quality of life is also fulfilling the role of government.