Many people think that students should be allowed to choose the subjects that they study in school, whereas others feel that they should study a set curriculum. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

opinion. In modern times, getting a good education has become increasingly important. While it can be argued that all students should study a prescribed syllabus, another opinion is that students should decide which subjects they wish to study at school. In this essay I will examine both sides of this argument and provide my overall opinion. Generally speaking, there are a variety of reasons why people believe that students should choose what they want to study. Perhaps the main reason why people are in favour of this idea is because students will be more interested in the coursework if they have chosen it themselves. If a student is interested in a particular subject, they are more likely to do well in it. Secondly, students who are studying something they do not enjoy may disturb their classmates. Despite these arguments, there is also a case for the idea that students should not be allowed to choose what they want to study. Perhaps the main argument against this idea is that some subjects need to be studied whether or not a student is interested in them. For example, if a person cannot read or do basic mathematics, they will struggle to survive in modern society. Secondly, it would make the organization of lessons very difficult. Schools simply do not have the necessary resources to allow every student to do what they want. My personal view is that students should be allowed some control over their choice of subjects because this would encourage them to be more independent in their studies and they would enjoy their lessons more. However, the more essential subjects should be compulsory