many people think that mobile phones should be banned in public places such as libraries, shops, and public transport.

It is commonly believed that new technologies have influenced people’s lifestyles, with no exception to smartphones. Opinions widely vary as to whether using mobile phones should be prohibitive in public venues or not. I partially disagree with the mentioned notion on the grounds of several reasons, which will be discussed in this essay. On the one hand, those who are in favor of banning mobile phones claim that this gadget can be intrusive. In the first place, mobile phones can disturb others when they concentrate, for example, in libraries or once people speak loudly in public transportation. Moreover, the mobiles’ signal not only can cause problems for instruments in hospitals, but it is also annoying patients, resulting in deleterious consequences. However, restricting mobile phones in public places nither would be practical nor an ideal course of action. Conversely, mobiles are multi-functional devices, and thus they should not be banned in public places. Firstly, most jobs require their employees to be available throughout the day by phone, especially for emergency situations, like doctors or police officers, meaning that most people should have their phones with them in public places. In the second place, smartphones provide entertainment for people when traveling on a tedious trip by public transportation or even allow them to use their cameras to capture the moments. It goes without saying that using mobiles as a shopping notepad or online payment are other excellent illustrations that justify they should not be restricted. Alternatively, governments can educate people to silence their phones once they are in libraries or hospitals instead of prohibitive rules. In conclusion, I lean toward the idea that although mobile phones would be intrusive in some situations, restricting them seems an unrealistic remedy, and therefore informing people to use them with respect to others in public places would be more beneficial.