Many people think that being born to a poor country is unlucky while others believe that it only motivates one to work harder to achieve success. Although I am more in favour of the latter opinion, this essay will

Many people think that being born to a poor country is unlucky while others believe that it only motivates one to work harder to achieve success. Although I am more in favour of the latter opinion, this essay will discuss both views. There are several reasons for the belief that being born to a third-world country is a bad luck. First, a country can be impoverished because of rampant corruption and a lack of transparency. As a tax payer in a corrupt country, one can hardly be happy when his or her money is wasted or stolen by corrupt officials. More importantly, in the absence of transparency he or she would see little hope in tracing where the money goes. Secondly, poverty can block people's access to education and health care services. The resulting lack of knowledge and skills may lead to grim career prospects while limited access to health care services, in a worst-case scenario, may put an end to one’s life. However, I believe that poverty only makes people stronger. To begin with, poor people are often left with no choice but to fight, be it a fight for hope or, simply, food. While people in rich countries can live on social security benefits, citizens of poorer countries often have to work harder to survive. Furthermore, endless struggles can teach people survival lessons that they normally do not find anywhere else. Japan offers an excellent example of how poverty and sufferings were turned into dreams and aspirations when the Japanese magically transformed their country into a superpower after the Second World War. Last but not least, living in a poorer country, people are constantly required to change and adapt as change and adaptability are exactly what it needs to get them out of poverty. In contrast, living in a well developed society, people may feel complacent and less motivated to strive for success. In conclusion, I believe that a poor background should never be an excuse for not trying; instead, the challenges would help gear them up for a brighter future.