Many people think that all lawbreakers are dangerous so we need to put them into prison. However, others believe that there are alternative types of punishment that should be used. In my opinion, I will vote for the latter view.

Many people think that all lawbreakers are dangerous so we need to put them into prison. However, others believe that there are alternative types of punishment that should be used. In my opinion, I will vote for the latter view. On the one hand, it is argued that imprisoning bad citizens will make society safer, especially those with unfortunate victims such as being abused, raped, assaulted, or robbed with a weapon. This leaves them with emotional trauma and fears for those who break the law. In addition, another reason is that a mild punishment such as fines or community service rather than imprisonment are too soft and not deterrent. So it is undisputedly easy to continue breaking the law. On the other hand, while many people believe that all offenders should be jailed, I do not support that view. The first reason is because it is inhumane to imprison offenders for minor crimes such as petty theft or robbery because they may need money for the treatment of their family member or they have not received an education from a young age, misbehavior occurs as an inevitable consequence. In this case, it is better and effective to invest in criminal education to raise awareness among the public about wrongdoers. Secondly, there are many jobs that lack of blue-collar workers, however, do not need a degree such as manual jobs in factories, jobs with high exposure to chemicals. So why don't we take advantage of these human resources and help them rebuild their lives as a chance to rehabilitation instead of putting them in prison. In conclusion, while some people might think that imprisonment is effective in all cases, I believe that criminals can receive different levels of punishment that are more beneficial to our society