many people tend to work longer hours. Why is this happening? Is that positive or negative developments

In line with the shift in time, there is an upheaval tendency in which a plethora of workers embrace overtime labor in lieu of quintessential hours of work for several different reasons. From my own perspective, I firmly believe that this trend is nothing but a detrimental inclination associating with severe repercussions. Undoubtedly, the root of this alarming concern stems from two dominant rationales. In the first place, one of the culprits is the antediluvian mindset of a vast majority of residents who are behind the times. To be more specific, the more extensive workloads the individuals accumulate, the greater likelihood their descendants can be culminated with a lucrative future prospect. On account of the escalating surge in cost living, if employees do not put in additional hours and exert themselves, either they or their offspring could confront sternly financial complexity. Correspondingly, employees frequently work overtime to fulfill managers' expectation and accomplish the day's workload. Consequently, conventional hours of work may not be sufficient for employees to achieve everything on their schedule. Particularly during peak seasons such as running marketing campaign, latest product launch or mass recruiting, overworking seems mandatory. On the other hand, there are notable merits when it comes to working extended hours permanently. Firstly, consecutive periods of working straight shifts, lack of breaks during the day, and successive days of working without a day off contribute to decreased efficiency or productivity in workers. For instance, the abnormal work and sleep schedule of police officers frequently brings about the downturn in their effectiveness which can create perilous environments for the communities around them. Another justification worth paying attention is workers’ demotivation and indifference towards their assignments which might be provoked significantly by excessive time in the office. As a result, employees may end up in wasting energy ineffectually, reducing profitability of the corporations as well as stagnating their career. In conclusion, although a myriad of elements have the ability to influence workers into assuming a high volume of labour which deter them from leading a flourishing work-life balance, it is my firm conviction that overworking is all negative due to the complications resulting from it.