Many people still believe that riding a bicycle is the best way to get to places. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using the bicycle these days?

Over the ages, travelling is one of the most popular hobbies of people, and the mode of conveyance varied from time to time. It is opined by many people that the best companion to explore places is the bicycle. This essay discusses the achievements and setbacks of using a two-wheeler in this modern era. On the one hand, cycles help people to cover distances quickly during times of traffic congestion. Besides, it comes as a saviour when the road is either narrow or dilapidated. Secondly, atmospheric pollution can be plummeted by using man-powered vehicle. In other words, unlike motor vehicles, cycles do not exhaust harmful gases that wreck flora and fauna. Thirdly, cycling is considered a suitable exercise to curb lifestyle diseases such as cholesterol, diabetes and obesity. For instance, pedalling the cycle not only takes a person to a destination but also burns calories. On the flip side, nevertheless, there are some demerits as well. Travelling on a bicycle for longer distances is both time-consuming and exhausting. Consider the case when a person needs to cover 100 kilometres in less time, and on such an occasion, cycles fail to serve the purpose. Moreover, the climate needs to be favourable to use a green vehicle. Else, the journey gets hindered in extreme weather. Furthermore, comfort imparted by cars is higher compared to cycles. For example, using a man-powered two-wheeler in heavy rain can cause mishaps or diseases. To recapitulate, the increase in vehicles that run on fossil fuels leads to many critical situations. Improvement in air quality is the merit of cycles, while the delay in commuting distances is its demerit.