Many people spend a large amount of their time watching movies. What could be the reason behind this? Is this a good or bad thing?

In recent years, the production of movies and TV shows have grown rapidly. Because of this, we see that too many people are obsessed with movies and dramas. This essay will explain the possible reasons behind this and also highlights the underlying risks involved. Probably the major reason behind the increased viewership of movies is the abundance of movie channels and flexible platforms. One can easily find and start watching movie on a computer or on-demand tv service such as Netflix. Both the audience and the content creators are responsible for this because the former ones are after new shows while the latter ones are doing this for the sake of earning. In contrast, while there were fewer platforms in the past, people were less involved and dependent on this virtual technology and more concerned on healthy activities. Because of the diversity of content and the sedentary lifestyle fictional movies encourage, I believe that this can pose a significant negative impact on an individual. Firstly, children or young adults may develop psychological problems such as many teenagers start smoking or drinking because their favorite TV artist does this on screen. Secondly, parents with a habit of watching movies may disrupt the child-parent relationship because children will seek advice or share thoughts with their peers because of less attention they get from parents which is an alarming situation if the peer misleads them. This is a common issue among Asian youngsters where mothers rely on baby-sitters or after-school childcare programmes so that they can relax and enjoy watching their favorite shows. This may not seem harming but a child, who is a valuable resource, may face poor development In conclusion, although watching fictional shows seems to be unharming and a good leisure-based activity, I believe that every generation could be affected with associated problems such as a poor relationship or negative education.