Many people prefer to watch foreign films than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

Film industry flourished dramatically over the last few years. Technological advancements have made a big contribution to the success of this industry. Countries such as India, USA etc. are highly dependent on this industry. Their governments are financially supporting to achieve better and long lasting result. They are in the process of sticking people to watch their own locally produced movies. However, with the easy access to foreign movies and because of low-quality local movies people nowadays prefer watching foreign movies more often. This has become a global phenomenon and both movie viewers and the government should patronise the growth of local movies according to many. There are several reasons for the shift in term of watching movies. Nowadays, people are smarter; they do not want to waste their time and money for an ordinary movie. They want quality movies, which have big casts, good camera works, emotions and suspense. In addition to this, they want something new and unique. This is why they are pursuing towards foreign films. Lack of funds is one of the vital reasons in competing with other movie industries. People are reluctant to work in local films because they have been paid very less. These people try to find their career in other countries because of high income and appreciation. The government should support their local film industry in order to equip with the latest technology such as cameras, software and training. The good work of celebrities should be acknowledged and awarded by the government, this will encourage good people to join and serve for this industry. The government should also restrict the piracy of movies and promote the local movies to help flourish the local movies. In conclusion, I would say that with mutual support of government and people will definitely help local film industry to grow immensely. This will later turn into a fruitful tree for our economy.