Many people prefer to watch foreign films than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

In many countries, foreign films such as Hollywood or Bollywood films are more popular than the locally produced ones.   And to cope with the problem, governments should provide financial support for domestic film producers. The following essay will discuss in details about the issue and how governments should resolve it. For a number of reasons, a lot of people choose to watch imported films than the domestic ones these days. Firstly, these people believe that quality of overseas actors is better than the locals. These people think that foreign actors could maximise their acting abilities and play their character well, therefore it would positively affect the quality of the film. Secondly, audio visual technologies that are used by the local producers are left behind than the overseas ones. It is undeniable that foreign films have used modern and high technology techniques, which have created unique and astonishing visual effects. To solve the issue, governments should have some strategies and action plans. One of the things that governments could do is to provide subsidies for the local film producers. The subsidy could be used by these movie makers for upgrading their tools and equipment, therefore they could improve the graphic and sound quality of the films. And then governments could provide scholarships for local actors to study acting overseas. By studying overseas, it is hoped these actors could learn from world class actors and improve their acting quality. In conclusion, many people choose to watch foreign movies than the domestic ones due to the overseas ones are better in term of acting and visual effect quality. However, there are several things that governments could do to solve the problem, and one of them is to provide financial support for local film producers and actors.