Many people nowadays tend to marry and have children in their thirties rather than at a younger age. Is this a positive or negative development?

Earlier, marriage and becoming parents used to be considered as fundamental journeys of life that everyone had to accomplish within a certain age bracket to follow the social norms. However, nowadays individual choices play a bigger role in terms of these life-altering events. When many people think that starting a family earlier is a good idea for financial and social stability, others feel to sort their own lives first before getting hitched to someone else. Although I believe that getting married in thirties have way more positives, this essay will discuss both the scenarios and come to a conclusion. Marriage equivalents to responsibility and commitment which tends to come in the way of other priorities of life at a younger age at times. For example, if a person is getting a luxurious job offer in a different continent in his late twenties and he is already a father of two children, it will be difficult for him to move immediately which will eventually result into rejection. Earlier, these issues were less as globalization didn’t take this much space in our lives. Apart from these, having a family also requires a certain amount of financial sacrifices that an individual might not be able to make at a younger age. For example, a lot of companies still now do not have substantial maternity benefits to offer. In this scenario, a young mother will have to leave the job in order to provide for her children. As mentioned earlier, I believe, starting a social life have more positive developments to offer to compare getting married in the twenties. Certain psychological surveys showed that emotional maturity is an extremely important factor to sustain in a marriage in today’s world which grows with age. Hence, it’s always better to commit to someone at a later age to avoid separation. Getting married and deciding to have children in the thirties also allows one to live a less hassle-free life while they are young which offers a more psychologically and mentally beneficial atmosphere to grow. For instance, if an unmarried person wants to start up a business at a young age, it will allow her to take more risks which was not the case in an earlier period of time when people used to be more family-oriented than professions. To conclude it can be stated that, in this century getting married or having children at a later age has more benefits than an earlier time when life was much simpler and circled around only a 9-5 routine. Nowadays people do not work only to provide for families, a lot of individual dreams get included from an early age which should be prioritized first before wearing many social hats.