Many people nowadays spend a large part of their free time using a smart phone. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days it is noticeable that more and more individuals tend to use their mobile phones during their spare time. I strongly suspect that this trend could have any positive effects. In this essay, I will explore the underlying reasons held responsible for this issue. It is undeniable that we are living in an era where technology is rapidly developing every day. There are numerous games designed for every age group which can keep people busy for hours. As a consequence of having countless apps at our fingertips, people rather browse through them instead of taking part in any other activity in their leisure time. Although this massive technological growth has its own pros, research suggests that people who are known as introverts prefer communicating with friends and family using their gadgets to avoid any kind of direct interaction. In the main, these can be known as reasons why people are glued to their phone screens whenever they find the chance to. I firmly believe that it is crucial for people to control their screen time. Firstly, it is widely acknowledged that the obesity rate among youngsters is increasing day by day. This is usually due to lack of exercise among the youth which is a result of spending most of their time playing online video games. Beyond any doubt, not getting enough physical activity has its own drawbacks. Another matter of great concern, is the decrease in the amount of face to face communication in our society. People are becoming reluctant to show up in communities, since the user-friendly apps has made it effortless for people to catch up at any time they want. To put it simply, I believe that reducing the amount of screen time can not only benefit individuals, but also wider communities.